Band of Bugs Preview: Sound

May 1, 2007 at 2:54 pm (Gaming, NinjaBee, XBLA, Xbox 360)

EarbudsUnfortunately I was not able to experience the full effect of the sound design in Band of Bugs as I was playing on a mono TV or a mono headset (blasted faulty headphone converters!) for most of the time.

Here’s what I can tell you: The character voices were fun in that Simlish way.  (Where does NinjaBee come up with these fake mumble languages?)  The music matched well with the style of the game and avoided becoming grating even after many hours of play.

As for sound effects: As I dug deeper into the game I got very used to the “Thwack” sound of hitting someone with a melee weapon but it never truly annoyed me.  In fact, I felt a certain satisfaction in hearing that sound as I brought the smack down on some unsuspecting Warrior or Grunt.  Maybe the satisfaction worked as counterpoint to the anger, confusion, and disappointment I felt when I heard the sad bubbling sound of a “Weak Hit”.  Damn those pitiful dice rolls!  (Grr…that is another thing I forgot to mention in my Gameplay section…guess I will update the Addendum!)

Overall, I think the sound adds the appropriate dimensions to the game without ever overpowering or distracting from BoB‘s focus: combat, combat, and more combat.  But I am warning you now, the NinjaBee’s voice will cut through your soul like Hanzo steel.

[Also posted at XBLArcade.com]

Leave a Reply

